La Jeune Peinture put Man at the centre of its concerns. To this end, it chose an Expressionist manner, tempered and respectful of its subject, unlike the violent tormented vision of Slavic and German Expressionism.

The drawing had a key role in organising the texture in rigorous respect for Nature. Thus, the works of La Jeune Peinture were structured to be close to reality. Unctuous paste fleshed out the painting, the vector of its humanity, while the colours used were often limited to a range of ochre, black and earthy green, since these painters wished to evacuate all ornamental character from their works. They went straight to the essential.

They responded to barbarous colours with hues that conducive to meditation and silence. Their painting was grave without sadness, profound and humane.

La Jeune Peinture also sought to create large paintings. After years of scarcity, these young painters expressed themselves in sizeable formats as illustrated by the seven square metres of revolt in Bernard Lorjou’s La Peste en Beauce. Power, youth, affirmation of humankind shaped the main characteristics of this movement to give us all a lesson in life through a form of Expressionism derived from the Age of Enlightenment.

La Jeune Peinture met l’homme au centre de ses préoccupations. Pour celà, elle choisit une voie expressionniste. Celle-ci, à l’opposé de la vision tourmentée et de la violence des expressionnismes slave et allemand, est mesurée et se soumet à son sujet.

Le dessin y tient une place primordiale. Il organise la matière dans un assujetissement rigoureux à la nature. Ainsi les œuvres de la Jeune Peinture sont construites et proches du réel. Une pâte oncteuse sert de chair au tableau. Elle est le vecteur de son humanité.

Quant aux couleurs utilisées, la gamme est souvent limitée aux ocres, noirs et verts terreux car ces peintres veulent évacuer tout caractère ornemental de leurs œuvres. Ils vont à l’essentiel. Aux couleurs de la barbarie, ils répondent par des tonalités qui appellent au recueillement, au silence. Leur peinture est ainsi grave mais sans tristesse, profonde et humaine.

La Jeune Peinture c’est aussi une envie de peindre grand. Après des années de privation, ces jeunes peintres s’expriment dans des formats importants comme en témoignent les sept mètres carrés de révolte de La Peste en Beauce de Bernard Lorjou. Force, jeunesse, affirmation de l’homme dans un expressionnisme issu du siècle des Lumières sont donc les principales caractéristiques de ce mouvement qui nous donne à tous une leçon de vie.