As Pierre Basset states in his book Les Insoumis de l’art moderne (The Rebels of Modern Art), La Jeune Peinture is a “call for life”. It is the call of more than a thousand painters who gathered in Paris after the end of the War to express their attachment to Man and Nature.

After the atrocities the world had experienced, these painters turned away from an overly artistic vision of painting stigmatised by Picasso and Matisse to reassert a universal humanistic form of painting. They bore witness, through simple subjects drawn from everyday life, to the beauty of life, always placing humanity at the centre of their concerns.

Seeking their roots in the works they discovered when museums reopened - especially the Louvre - they were able to use the manner of their time to renew the heritage of the great masters.

With their thirst for living without any complexes, these young painters - all under the age of thirty - set up their own Salon and imposed on the world a new form of representation obsessed with reality.

This singular anachronistic movement, overlooked today in most history books, remains, for its rebellious spirit towards modernity, one of the greatest pictorial revolts in the 20th century.

Comme le dit fort bien Pierre Basset dans son livre Les Insoumis de l’art moderne, la Jeune Peinture est « un cri de vie ». C’est le cri de plus d’un millier de peintres qui se regroupent à Paris à la sortie de la guerre pour exprimer leur attachement à la nature et à l’homme.

Après les atrocités que le monde a connu, ces peintres se détournent d’une vision trop artistique de la peinture que stigmatisent Picasso et Matisse pour réaffirmer une peinture universelle et humaniste. Ils témoignent ainsi à travers des sujets simples issus du quotidien de la beauté de la vie, plaçant toujours l’humain au centre de leurs préoccupations.

Puisant leurs racines dans les œuvres qu’ils découvrent lors de la réouverture des musées et principalement du Louvre, ils sauront, dans une facture de leur époque, renouveler l’héritage des grands anciens.

Ces jeunes peintres, avides d’exister et sans complexes - ils ont alors moins de trente ans - créent leur propre salon et imposent au monde une nouvelle figuration éprise de réalité.

Mouvement anachronique et singulier, aujourd’hui oublié de la plupart des livres d’histoire, il reste par son insoumission à la modernité, une des plus grandes révoltes picturales du xxe siècle.